Hong Kong debriefing (1/2)

Where you’ll learn about my old school style when it comes to 4×5 composition, and discover an amazing tiny shop full of treasures…

First off, here is the setup for my 4×5 shot followed by the result. I usually don’t shoot my gear during a session but I find the Graflex look somehow “chic”, one may say I’m a snob. Well I guess I am (-:

Graflex setup in Hong Kong

Graflex setup in Hong Kong

And for the result:

4x5 shot of the Hong Kong bay (Speed graphic, Super Angulon f8 @f32, Fuji 160S)

4x5 shot of the Hong Kong bay (Speed graphic, Super Angulon f8 @f32, Fuji 160S)

As stated in the introduction, this is an ultra-classic composition, with maybe too much water, but I decided to keep it this way, because 4×5 will never look like our well-known 3×2 with its rule of the third. And when a sheet costs 3 euros to buy and 4 euros to process, you keep it simple, not to mention working with film you get the results once back home…

As far as sharpness is concerned, I must confess that a 7 images stitched panorama with a D300 and a decent optic looks almost as detailed as my scan, but:

– my scan is an amateur flatbed, one day I may have my favourite sheets drum scanned and we’ll see…

– the subtle tone ranges in both the sky and the water are more “eye candy” on the 4×5 than on my digital stitch.

– the graflex is fun to use!

I’m not at war against digital, I use it a lot, and I even bought a NEX3+M mount lenses, which I’ll present in my upcoming post.

Now it’s time to discover a gem: a tiny shop held by a very nice man, right in the middle of the “Golden Computer Center” in Kowloon, next to the Sham Shui Po MTR station.

In this place I found by chance while looking for cheap laptops, I was lucky enough to find ANY adapter (made of metal and matt black coated) I asked for: M to NEX, Hasselblad to Nikon, Nikon to NEX, lens and body caps of any brand, and so on… and he had everything!

And the real deal was that the average adapter price was 35 euros (350 HK$). Amazing

A tiny part of the available adapters

A tiny part of the available adapters

The neat guy was nice enough to let me try all combination and shoot pictures with his bodies before I bought the adapters. While we discussed with him (together with my friend you see on the pictures) he showed us another side of his work: how he managed to fit non reflex Zeiss lens (rather long focal to be OK to focus at infinity) into discarded Nikon lens barrels, to turn it into a Nikon compatible lens. See below.

The shop owner explaining us his work

The shop owner explaining us his work

A Contax G Zeiss 90mm f2.8 fits into a Nikon 50mm f1.8 barrel!

A Contax G Zeiss 90mm f2.8 fits into a Nikon 50mm f1.8 barrel!

By the way these last three shots were taken with my NEX3 and an M mount Voigtlander 35mm f1.4, to test the adapter I was about to buy, so you’ve got first samples of the “look” of the lenses on a 14Mpix APS-C sensor (I guess it’s the same as the D7000).

Stay tuned, part 2/2 of this debriefing is soon to be posted!

About dreamlenses

Amateur photographer, seeking for photo gear (no matter film or digital) that keeps me from flare and distortion!
This entry was posted in 4x5, Hong Kong and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

