Pixel freak…

More on 4″x5″: a classic 100% crop of a previously posted image.

The original 140Mpix picture cannot be displayed properly on the web (or I’d have to master dynamic flash viewer or such a mess) but I selected an area which is displayed at native resolution.

4"x5" example: Delta 100 + FX32

100% of the selected area (Super Angulon 90mm @f32):

Détail (cliquer dessus pour avoir vraiment 100%)

Détailed crop (click to see actual 100% view)

If you’re bored to death (maybe waiting for a 250 NEF panorama to crash your computer while stitching and dropping 130Go of temporary files before dying, as mine did) you can count the flowers surrounding the Apsara sculpture.

This is a 3200dpi un-sharpened scan. As can be seen the Delta 100 (in FX39) grain is not even noticeable

I guess there is more in my negative than displayed, and maybe sharper. However, having used f32, I may suffer lens diffraction, so maybe I already got almost everything out of this shot. The only issue may be the Epson 4870, which, while good, doesn’t produce scans as crisp as an Imacon or a drum scanner.

Anyway as it is, it can produce huge prints, which I may not dare to order to a lab, except if I get a place for an exhibition. Even then, a 40″x50″ laminated print would cost me an arm and a leg!

One thing I didn’t mention yet : seeing a scene on a groundglass is breathtaking. I already had this feeling while using the Hasselblad without a prism, but on a huge groundglass, I’m amazed each time I use my Graflex. It looks like 3D picture popping out, even if I know it isnt’ 3D. And you can focus using a quality loupe on the groundglass, so the focus is insanely precise.

I’m really pleased about my “LF wide angle kit”, even more when I think about the Hasselblad SWC, a camera dedicated to a single lens: Carl Zeiss’ 38mm Biogon. I think about the price, the fact that it’s not easy to use either, and that it shoot “only” 120 film. No troll there, it’s just my opinion.

I didn’t mention it yet, but for an architecture freak like me, a great feature is the “rise” movement, to avoid perspective issues. While being a large format camera, my antique camera only allows rise, no fall, shift nor tilt. This handicap is no big deal (I paid 130 euros for it!) and made it possible for me to get used to it in two photographs, and then jump in the plane that brought me in Cambodia. I hesitated before taking it on a trip given the fact I didn’t master it well, but I had to try. And I’m pleased I did. Had I played with tilt, I may have gotten lost.

In the next posts I’ll show the camera and the lens in detail, explain how I built a lensboard and how to load film holders (and how to fight monsoon humidity!!!)

About dreamlenses

Amateur photographer, seeking for photo gear (no matter film or digital) that keeps me from flare and distortion!
This entry was posted in 4x5 and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

